Privacy mode or going 'incognito' is one of the very blessed thing when browsing the web.
As a privacy feature, it disables browsing history and cache, allowing users to browse and search what they want without worrying that the local data can be retrieved at a later date.
While this feature has become a common thing on popular web browsers, YouTube as the giant of video streaming, is also having an incognito mode on its mobile app.
The mode can be accessed through users' Account section of the app. There, they can toggle the 'Turn on Incognito mode'.
When it's switched on, the app will show a bar at the bottom of the screen to remind users of that fact. YouTube will also change users' avatar with Google incognito's hat and shades icon instead. And just like in Chrome, YouTube's incognito allows users to watch and search anything without Google logging the activities. And also the data which is stored locally will be deleted when they exit the mode.
Initially, the feature is released on YouTube on Android.
The attempt to bring this feature to YouTube was spotted earlier in 2018 when both YouTube and YouTube Music began hinting it.
While going incognito is a great way to browse with less worry, activities will be limited. Similar to Chrome's incognito which gives problems with sites using cookies, YouTube's incognito disables some features that are probably useful for users.
For example, the Home and Trending feeds are the only parts of the app accessible when Incognito is turned on.
Subscriptions, Inbox and Library won’t be available. And users won’t be able to save any videos to their playlists, either. Search will remind users of how content is hidden and that nothing is being saved to their history.
The feature also won't allow users to watch videos that need signing in.
Incognito mode will automatically turn off after a period of inactivity, or users can manually tap the avatar in the top-right corner.
Privacy mode, or incognito, is popular for those who don't want their browsing activity to be saved. Services that provide this privacy mode won't track what the users are doing while the feature is switched on.
However, when it comes to privacy, this feature doesn't guarantee total privacy. This is because the mode only works locally, not by traffic.
What this means, administrators of a network might still be able to see what users are doing despite the mode is on. ISPs can also see browsing history because traffic that goes in and out isn't encrypted.
The better ways to ensure privacy without outsiders' prying eyes, is to use VPN which encrypts and directs traffic to somewhere else than the users' location. Using the anonymous Tor network is another option as it bounces traffic to multiple node, making tracking difficult.
What for what this mode is on YouTube, it's like the same as signing out, but a bit more convenient.