All Inactive Google Accounts Older Than Two Years Will Be Deleted, Said Google

Google

Google is so ubiquitous that pretty much anyone has registered an account with it.

To be able to use Google Search to its full capacity, view YouTube all YouTube videos without issues, send and receive emails using Gmail, store photos on Google Photos use an Android phone like how it's designed, use Google Drive, and more, all users have to do, is register for a Google Account.

Google has made it so easy to create a Google Account.

The thing is, it's too easy to create a Google Account, that things are becoming an issue.

Because of this, Google said that it's deleting millions of Google Accounts that have been inactive for at least two years.

According to a blog post earlier this 2023 by Ruth Kricheli, VP of Google’s product management, the purge is part of a security measure to protect accounts.

"If an account hasn’t been used for an extended period of time, it is more likely to be compromised. This is because forgotten or unattended accounts often rely on old or re-used passwords that may have been compromised, haven’t had two-factor authentication set up, and receive fewer security checks by the user."

"Meaning, these accounts are often vulnerable, and once an account is compromised, it can be used for anything from identity theft to a vector for unwanted or even malicious content, like spam."

Starting in December 2023, Google Accounts that have been inactive for two years will be deleted, including whatever contents the accounts have within Google Workspace, such as Gmail, Docs, Drive, Meet, Calendar and Google Photos.

According to the company, deletion is phased, and will start with accounts that were created and were never used again since they were created.

After that, Google will start deleting other accounts which have been inactive for two years.

But Google isn't going to just delete everything in one go.

Google said that account holders will receive multiple notifications to their email addresses, before Google deletes anything on it.

Google Account-active

It's worth noting that the removal policy only applies to personal Google Account, and not accounts for organizations such as schools or businesses.

In order to keep Google Accounts from being marked for deletion, all users have to do, is keep their accounts active.

The least they can do, is to sign in to the accounts once every two years.

Once Google sees that an account is used, Google will consider it an active account, and won't mark it for deletion.

Anyone with an existing subscription set up through their Google Account is also considered to have an active account.

Published: 
11/11/2023